Loading images...

2013 County Council Election Results

Posted on 3rd May, 2013 in News

The Conservative Party has retained overall control of Somerset County Council after the County went to the polls yesterday (2 May).

After all the results were counted for 54 out of the 55 electoral divisions, Conservatives held 28 seats (down 7 from 2009), Liberal Democrats 18 (down 3 from 2009), Labour 3 (same as 2009), UK Independence Party 3 (0 seats in 2009) and Independents 2 (0 seats in 2009).

The Coker division will be contested on 16 May due to the death of a candidate.

Overall turnout was: 35.6% (a decrease compared to 42% in 2009)

Seats Won:

Conservative: 28
Labour: 3
Lib Dem: 18
Independent: 2

The Council Leader and Chairman will be elected at the next full council meeting which will take place on 21 May 2013.

Full results are:

Bishops Hull & Taunton West – Justine Baker, Liberal Democrat
Blackdown & Neroche – Ross Henley, Liberal Democrat
Blackmoor Vale – William Wallace, Conservative
Brent – John Denby – Conservative
Bridgwater East & Bawdrip – David Hall, Conservative
Bridgwater North & Central – Dave Loveridge, Labour
Bridgwater South – Leigh Redman, Labour
Bridgwater West – Ann Bown, Conservative
Brympton – Sam Crabb, Liberal Democrat
Burnham on Sea North – Peter Burridge-Clayton, Conservative
Cannington – John Edney, Conservative
Castle Cary – Mike Lewis, Conservative
Chard North – Nigel Pearson, UKIP
Chard South – Jill Shortland, Liberal Democrat
Cheddar – Dawn Hill, Conservative
Coker – (to be declared on 16th May)
Comeytrowe & Trull – Alan Wedderkopp, Liberal Democrat
Crewkerne – John Dyke, Liberal Democrat
Curry Rivel & Langport – Derek Yeomans, Conservative
Dulverton & Exmoor – Frances Nicholson, Conservative
Dunster – Christine Lawrence, Conservative
Frome East – Alvin Horsfall, Liberal Democrat
Frome North – Sam Phripp, Liberal Democrat
Frome West – Derek Tanswell, Liberal Democrat
Glastonbury & Street (A) Terry Napper, Conservative
Glastonbury & Street (B) Alan Gloak, Liberal Democrat
Highbridge & Burnham South – John Woodman, Conservative
Huntspill – Mark Healy, Conservative
Ilminster – Linda Vijeh, Conservative
King Alfred – David Huxtable, Conservative
Lydeard – Mike Rigby, Independent
Martock – John Bailey, Liberal Democrat
Mendip Central & East – Philip Ham, Conservative
Mendip Hills – Harvey Siggs, Conservative
Mendip South – Nigel Woollcombe-Adams, Conservative
Mendip West – Graham Noel, Conservative
Minehead – Terry Venner, UKIP
Monkton & North Curry – David Fothergill, Conservative
North Petherton – Richard Brown, Conservative
Rowbarton & Staplegrove – Danny Wedderkopp, Liberal Democrat
Shepton Mallet – John Parham, Conservative
Somerton – Dean Ruddle, Conservative
South Petherton and Islemoor – Christopher Le Hardy, Conservative
Taunton East – Simon Coles, Liberal Democrat
Taunton North – Claire Gordan, Liberal Democrat
Taunton South – Hazel Prior-Sankey, Liberal Democrat
Upper Tone – James Hunt, Conservative
Watchet & Stogursey – Hugh Davies, Independent
Wellington – Andrew Govier, Labour
Wells – John Osman, Conservative
Wincanton & Bruton – Anna Groskop, Conservative
Yeovil Central – Alan Dimmick, UKIP
Yeovil East – Tony Lock, Liberal Democrat
Yeovil South – Dave Greene, Liberal Democrat
Yeovil West – Jane Lock, Liberal Democrat

Find more information on the results at: www.somerset.gov.uk

For more information, contact Somerset County Council Press Office on

01823 355020 or email: pressoffice@somerset.co.uk

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This