Loading images...

Bridgwater Cup presentation 2009

Posted on 14th April, 2010 in News

Dr Peter Cattermole has been awarded the Bridgwater Cup for 2009 in recognition of his work for organisations and the community of Bridgwater.  The Mayor Ken Richards will present the cup to Peter on Thursday 4 February 2010 at 7.30pm in a simple ceremony at the Mayor’s Parlour.

Peter was nominated in recognition of his outstanding voluntary work in 2009, as the

Co-ordinator between the Bridgwater Town Council and the Friends of Blake Museum and volunteers in the successful transfer and rebirth of the Museum.  This role demonstrated his wide variety of skills as a catalyst in the transfer from the control of Sedgemoor District Council and the move to day-to-day management by the volunteer organisation which has already transformed the Museum beyond recognition.

He is also a leading member of the Bridgwater and District Civic Society and as Vice-Chairman has helped the organisation to become one of the most progressive in the country.  His extensive knowledge of both planning law and his passion for the historic environment and the Town’s heritage proves invaluable.  Particular contributions relate to the information boards at the Old Market Public House and The Priory, the ‘blue plaques’ around the town and the eagerly anticipated new version of the Bridgwater Town Trails.

Peter has not only worked closely with many of the young people in the town in helping their training aspiring to University placement, but has been instrumental in the recruitment of College students to give of their free time to further the ongoing needs of the Museum – www.bridgwatermuseum.org.uk

The silver cup is awarded annually by Bridgwater Town Council for significant contribution to our Town and the lives of its citizens.   It was donated by Mr Colin Wilkins in the 1970s and is usually on display at Blake Museum.   The winner receives a replica as a momento.

2009 illustrated perfectly the massive community interest in Bridgwater with the largest number of nominations – 10 – since the Town Council’s creation.

Alan Hurford

Town Clerk

Dr Peter Cattermole

Dr Peter Cattermole

With Mayor & Mayoress

With Mayor & Mayoress

Henry Atherton Derek Gibson

Mr Henry Atherton Derek Gibson being congratulated by the Mayor on getting his MBE

Photos are Courtesy of Andy Slocombe

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This